Official Training Website

How to get a Texas License To Carry (LTC) in 2024

Step-by-step instructions covering everything you need to know about getting the Texas License To Carry (LTC), also  commonly known as, “Concealed Carry.”

Whether you’re starting the process to get your permit, you need to check the status of a pending application, or you simply have questions, then this handbook is for you.


Verify that you meet state and federal requirements.

In order to obtain a license to carry, you must first verify that you meet all of the following requirements:

  • Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military)
  • Have not been convicted of a felony

Other factors may make individuals ineligible to obtain a license, such as: felony convictions, some misdemeanor convictions, including charges that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication; certain pending criminal charges; chemical or alcohol dependency; certain types of psychological diagnoses, and protective or restraining orders. The full list of state eligibility requirements can be found here. 


Receive signed LTC-101 form by completing Texas DPS Approved LTC Course

If you meet the above requirements, the next step is to enroll for an approved LTC Training Course. This training must be completed through a DPS Approved Texas Certified Instructor. You can enroll in this training by clicking here.

After you successfully pass the approved online examination you will receive an Online/Handgun Proficiency Training (LTC 101) form.

Can this be completed online?

Yes, an applicant may receive LTC online training through an Approved Online Course Provider who has been approved in Texas.

How much does it cost?


What topics are covered during this LTC Class?

The course must cover the four (4) statutory required topics. These include:

  • Laws that relate to weapons and the use of deadly force,
  • Handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns,
  • Non-violent dispute resolution,
  • Proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child.

How long does this training take?

This training typically takes ~4 hours to complete. Most online providers allow you to pause training and resume at your convenience.

What will I receive after I take the course?

Once you have successfully completed your online training, you will receive a signed Online/Handgun Proficiency Training (LTC 101) form that you will submit with your application.


Apply with Texas Department of Public Safety

In addition to the above training, you will need to submit the following online application. Be prepared to provide the following:

  • Valid driver license or identification card,
  • Current demographic, address, contact, and employment information,
  • Residential and employment information for the last five years (new users only),
  • Information regarding any psychiatric, drug, alcohol, or criminal history,
  • Valid email address

How much does it cost?

The State of Texas currently charges $40 for both first time LTC applicants as well as renewals.  There are discounts for those that meet certain special conditions. For complete list, click here.

Are fees refundable?

Fees are non-refundable and non-transferrable. If an application is not approved, the fees will not be refunded.

How long does this take?

This process typically takes about 20-30 minutes to complete.


Get Your Fingerprints Taken From IdentoGo

In order for you application to be approved, it is mandated that you have your fingerprints taken. To schedule an appointment at a time and location convenient to you, you can signup online here or call (888) 467-2080 and provide Service Code: 119Q91

IMPORTANT: You must have your registration number and bar code from STEP 3 for them to send your prints to the State.

Service Code: 119Q9

What if my fingerprints are rejected?

If it is determined the fingerprints submitted with the application do not meet the required quality standards, new fingerprints must be provided. You will be notified in writing if your initial sets of fingerprints are rejected.

Is there a cost involved to take my fingerprints?

Yes, please see website by clicking button above to see most up-to-date pricing.


Complete Proficiency Demonstration/Pistol Qualification in Your Area

Complete In-Person LTC Proficiency Exam

Will I need a gun to complete this training?

Some instructors may require you to use your own gun during the proficiency (shooting) demonstration. However, others may provide the gun and/or ammunition. You will need to consult with a certified instructor to determine if you will need a handgun for the course.

What topics are covered during the proficiency demonstration?

The outline of what is included can be found here.

Is the training difficult?

The shooting proficiency test is not difficult but practice helps. It is recommended that you spend some time practicing shooting at a range if possible before the class.

After I complete everything, how long until I get my license?

Upon completion of the training course and application packet, the state has 60 days from the time it receives your completed materials to issue your license.